Dedicated To Delivering Accountability, Maximizing Compensation And Facilitating Your Recovery

Types Of Asbestos

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) defines six different mineral types as asbestos, all of which are known to cause serious health complications and cancer.

The Six Different Types Of Asbestos, According To The Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Include

  • Chrysotile
    Chrysotile asbestos, sometimes referred to as “white asbestos,” is the most commonly used type of asbestos, accounting for approximately 95% of the asbestos found in American buildings. It can also be found in roofs, ceilings, walls and floors throughout residential homes and commercial buildings. Brake pads and linings, pipe insulation, floor tiles and numerous other items have been made with chrysotile asbestos.
  • Amosite
    Known as “brown asbestos,” amosite was commonly used in cement sheet and pipe insulation, ceiling tiles, fire retardant and thermal insulation products. Amosite asbestos fibers are needle-like and are considered to be the second-most commonly used type of asbestos by the EPA.
  • Crocidolite
    Crocidolite asbestos was used in a number of applications, including ceiling tiles, chemical insulation, cement products and others.
  • Tremolite, Anthophyllite and Actinolite
    The other three types of asbestos – Tremolite, Anthophyllite and Actinolite – may be foundto bes a contaminant in other types of asbestos and asbestos products.

Contact Our Firm To Learn More

At Peter Angelos Law, we take pride in the fact that we have been front-runners in asbestos litigation. We are able to fully educate the victims and families we serve and can swiftly answer whatever questions you have.

If you would like to speak with a mesothelioma lawyer from our legal team to learn more about the different types of asbestos or to discuss your case, contact our firm today or fill out a free case evaluation form.